In July 2024, Dr. Vikram Chauhan's OPD is available on 22nd & 23rd July (Monday & Tuesday). Next OPD Dates will also be Announced Soon.

Planet Ayurveda Experts are Available for Your Help From Monday To Saturday. Click here to Book Your Slot Now for Online Video Consultations !!
Planet Ayurveda's New Official Facebook Account is Now Active. CLICK HERE To Follow Us on Facebook.



When the vital energies of the human body are imbalanced with the physical make up for a long period of time, there is origin and spread of the diseases. According to the philosophy of the Ayurvedic system of medicine, factors resulting imbalance of the vital energy or the three biological humours, normally results in the accumulation of toxic or products, known as ama in Ayurvedic system of medicine. Along with the time factor, the ama moves to parts of the human body where genetic weaknesses exist. Once ama accumulates in that part, it cane described as origin of the diseases.

Definition of Kriya Kal

Kriya Kal or Shat Kriya Kal (six stages of disease formation) in Ayurvedic system of medicine is defined as the six chief stages of manifestation of the disease. Kriya Kal or Shat Kriya Kal has great significance as they are helpful in the thorough cause or aetiology of the disease much before clinical manifestations are evident. Each stage of the Kriya Kal or Shat Kriya Kal (six stages of disease formation) provides a way to stop and most-probably to reverse the further spread of the disease (vyadhi in Ayurvedic system of medicine). Obviously, the earlier a disease is diagnosed or detected, the easier is to control it by ways of medication.

The Six Stages are:

  1. Sanchaya (accumulation),
  2. Prakopa (aggravation),
  3. Prasara (dissemination),
  4. Sthana Samsraya (relocation),
  5. Vyakti (manifestation),
  6. Bheda (disruption).

Sanchaya (accumulation)

Sanchaya represents as the stage of accumulation. Sanchaya is the first stage of the shat kriya kal and ama production resulting from improper digestion, starts accumulating in the gut or intestine. Sanchaya is primarily associated with the imbalance of the biological water, Kapha which accumulates in the amasya (stomach). According to the Ayurvedic system of medicine, when ama is product of the imbalance of the biological fire, Pitta, it accumulates in the ksudrantra (small intestine) and in the colon ama gets connected to the dysfunction of the biological air, Vata. Aama disturbs the smooth functioning of the three biological humours resulting in mild symptoms which can be easily detected, which is a signal of physiological imbalance.


Prakopa (aggravation) is the 2nd stage of the shat kriya kal. Prakopa (aggravation) is generally translated as aggravation or provocation. Although the prakopa phase of the shat kriya kal do not manifest the differentiated clinical signs and symptoms that modern system of medicine is not in a position to recognize. The Ayurvedic doctors are in a position to confirm the aggravated biological humours or ama via nadi prakisha or pulse diagnosis. Accordingly, the Ayurvedic doctor prescribes some behavioural and dietary changes in order to reverse stage of the prakopa.


Prasara (dissemination) is the third stage of shat kriya kal as per Ayurveda. Prasara (dissemination) means to leave and spread. In Prasara (dissemination), toxins or ama had accumulates to such an extent that it creates influx in the gastrointestinal tract. The three biological humours travel along with the micronutrients to the tissues (dhatus).

Sthana Samshraya

Sthana Samsraya (relocation) is the 4th phase of shat kriya kal. It is also known as the stage of disease relocation or augmentation. Sthana samshraya refers to taking shelter in some place. The ama from the prasra stage enters in a feeble and defective tissue. Ama is responsible for the structural and functional damage of the human-body. This is the stage which can invite some degenerative disorder or infective disease. An array of factors determines ama shall damage which specific dhatus.


Vyakta (manifestation) is the 5th stage of shat kriya kal. Vyatka means which can be visualised. In his stage, well differentiated and clear-cut symptoms appear on first basis. Vyakta can be defined as the stage of symptom manifestation. The process of the disease overpowers the capability of the human-body to maintain haemostasis and immunity. At this juncture, structural and functional dysfunctions progress to such a stage where the illness has actual start. The process of the disease results in the manifestation of the clinical symptoms which are used by the Allopathic doctors for diagnosis of the disease.


Bheda (disruption) is the final and 6th stage of shat kriya kal as per Ayurvedic system of medico. Bheda is also defied as the stage of updrava or complications Vyakta (manifestation) the 5th stage of shat kriya kal gives or rather confirms the general diagnosis and the sixth stage i.e. bheda stands for the sakshepa nidana or differential diagnosis. Bheda (disruption) provides a detailed information and understanding of the group of clinical symptoms. Bheda (disruption) is characterized by severe depletion of the tissue function, serious damage to the channels of circulation or srotas, and the updrava which involves the related tissue. The whole disease cycle is aggravated by the unpleasant and toxic (sometimes) side- effects of the medicines that are employed to cure the disease.

Knowledge Base

Diseases A-Z

View All

Herbs A-Z

View all

Home Remedies

View all

Diet Chart

View all
Ask Your Query
close slider

    Leave a Message